Geosciences Rennes

a multidisciplinary laboratory for Earth Sciences and Environment
Géologues à Luang-Prabang, Laos. Ablation Laser ICP-MS. Eau, sel, pédiment, désert du Yacatama, Chili. Yucca Valley, Californie. Foinikas, Crete, Grèce

Presentation

Géosciences Rennes is a joint research unit in Earth and Environmental Sciences with the CNRS and the University of Rennes 1 as trustees. This multidisciplinary unit focuses on geological processes and the evolution of continental surfaces at long time scales, as well as the functioning and dynamics of our natural environment (the critical zone) on human time scales. In addition to this diversity of time scales, the work ranges from microscopic to nanoscale to continental. One of the particularities of the unit is also to take a strong interest in societal issues through the establishment of resources (water, energy, minerals), the potential impact of man on environments (e.g., emerging pollutants) and natural hazards. The approaches developed revolve around observation, numerical modelling and laboratory experimentation, relying on a remarkable instrumental and analytical park, highly efficient and in perpetual innovation.

The lab is organized into 2 scientific departments and a technical department

Geosciences Rennes is one of the founding and driving units of the Earth Sciences and Astronomy Observatory in Rennes (OSUR). For this reason, it actively takes part in the environmental policy for the Rennes site in partnership with the local authorities (Rennes Métropole, the Region of Brittany).

A multidisciplinary unit with technical means

The evolution of the research topics is based on strong disciplinary expertise in historical disciplines such as tectonics, deep geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, petrology, paleomagnetism and geophysics, and new disciplines: geomorphology, physical and chemical hydrology, biogeochemistry, low-temperature thermochronology.

This evolution is only possible with significant and high-performance technical support which is based on technical and human potential. These technical skills are grouped within 6 technical workshops in a technical department so as to provide greater efficiency for the benefit of the research programs. These workshops manage the analytical resources, in situ and laboratory experimental devices and resources for field observations.
The technical resources are managed within 6 technical departments:

* Elemental and Molecular Geochemistry
* Isotopic Geochemistry and Geochronology
* Geomaterials, Sedimentology and Petrophysics
* Field Hydrology and Geophysical Imaging
* Measurement of the magnetization
* Analogical and hydrological modeling.
 

Magnétomètre cryogénique 2G. Chromatographe en phase gazeuse

  • Magnétomètre cryogénique 2G, Chromatographe en phase gazeuse

Géosciences Rennes

un laboratoire pluridisciplinaire des Sciences de la Terre et de l'Environnement
Géologues à Luang-Prabang, Laos. Ablation Laser ICP-MS. Eau, sel, pédiment, désert du Yacatama, Chili. Yucca Valley, Californie. Foinikas, Crete, Grèce

Présentation

Géosciences Rennes est une unité mixte de recherche en Sciences de la Terre et l’Environnement ayant le CNRS et l’université de Rennes 1 comme tutelles. Cette unité pluridisciplinaire s’intéresse aux processus géologiques et à l’évolution des surfaces continentales aux échelles de temps longues, ainsi qu’au fonctionnement et à la dynamique de notre environnement naturel (la zone critique) sur des échelles de temps humaines. Outre cette diversité des échelles de temps considérées, les travaux vont de l’échelle microscopique, voire de la nano échelle à l’échelle continentale. Une des particularités de l’unité est également de s’intéresser fortement aux questions sociétales par le biais de la mise en place des ressources (eau, énergie, minerais), de l’impact potentiel de l’homme sur les milieux (e.g., polluants émergents) et des risques naturels. Les approches développées s’articulent autour de l’observation, la modélisation numérique et l’expérimentation en laboratoire, en s’appuyant sur un remarquable parc instrumental et analytique, très performant et en perpétuelle innovation.

L'unité est organisée en 2 départements scientifiques (DS) et un département technique (DT) :

Géosciences Rennes est l'une des unités fondatrices et moteur de l'Observatoire des Sciences de l'Univers de Rennes (OSUR). A ce titre, elle participe activement à la politique du site rennais sur l'Environnement en partenariat avec les collectivités locales (Rennes Métropole, la Région Bretagne).

Une unité pluridisciplinaire avec des moyens techniques

L'évolution des axes de recherche s'appuie sur une forte expertise disciplinaire, à la fois des disciplines historiques comme la tectonique, la géochimie profonde, la géochronologie, la paléontologie, la pétrologie, le paléomagnétisme et la géophysique, et des disciplines nouvelles : la géomorphologie, l'hydrologie physique et chimique, la biogéochimie, la thermochronologie BT.

Ceci n'est possible que grâce à un support technique important et performant qui s'appuie sur un potentiel technique et humain. Ces compétences techniques sont regroupées au sein de 6 ateliers techniques dans le département technqiue pour une meilleure efficacité au service des programmes de recherche. Ces ateliers gèrent les moyens analytiques, les dispositifs expérimentaux in situ et du laboratoire et les moyens d'observation de terrain.
Les moyens techniques sont gérés au sein de 5 services techniques :